“Your Distractions Are Disruptive!”

At the end of this I have an exercise for you. I’m curious to see what kind of results you get.

Your attention is the most important thing to being and staying productive. Distractions are everywhere and being able to jump from one to the next is a great way to go backwards. Working in a creative company it’s critical to keep the creative juices flowing and fresh at all time. I read so much in books and through successful people like Tai Lopez, Pro Athletes on social media, my faith, etc. how important it is to stay on task.

You know I agree with Tai. Staying in that “Focus Zone” is crazy hard. Today I had an experience though.

So there I was…..I’m pretty locked in on some stuff that I working on here at work. My co-worker jumps in and starts talking about some stuff that he’s working on. So I don’t look rude I grab my note pad and start taking notes to get more enthusiastic about what he was saying. Maybe it was inconvenient but like Oprah says, “Be curious, conversational, and real. Don’t persuade or interrupt. Listen, listen, listen.” (Read more: http://www.oprah.com/spirit/how-to-talk-to-people-you-dont-agree-with#ixzz48xVoVuWl)

Putting yourself second in a situation takes a different kind of person. I like to say it’s more loving to be a good listener. Having that “loving side” is helpful for me because I get carried away sometimes. It’s nice to talk with other people about the things I have going on inside my head and I know they feel the same way. You may be the same, if you are take advantage of those short moments. There’s a poem by Alfred Lord Tennyson’s and it goes:

“Hold it true, whate’er befall;  
I feel it, when I sorrow most;  
‘Tis better to have loved and lost  
Than never to have loved at all.”

Getting distracted for the right reasons are obviously a measurable contingent on the situation. My point is that, sometimes you can get distracted, mind map and learn something you may have not ever learned had you stayed in the zone.  We won’t ever get those moments back and I’d rather say, “I Did” than “I Can’t”. This was my discovery today. Our conclusion was that we want to be selling something more wholesome and relatable. Treating someone like you owe them something is something thats important to my co-worker and should I disagree, I would’ve never learned that.

You could also be walking to the restroom only to cross paths with a friend from the past. You never know what can come from something like that. I guess I’m talking more specifically about getting distracted from a vision. Getting too far off pace from a goal. If you’re like me you set out goals daily, weekly, monthly and annually that are all important to the end goal or vision. There are distractions that jump up all the time that can’t add value to your end goal/vision.

If you’re a “big picture thinker” you know that idea sharing is a benefit to getting distracted short term. Albert Einstein was famously quoted for saying, “The only valuable thing is intuition.”

My frame of reference on making my point is more supportive by an intuitive preference. I understand that some people might be more sensory influenced and thats ok that just adds depth to a perspective. With that said even guys like Albert Einstein were only free from distractions for up to 42 minutes. It’s not easy to free of them. If you ever get the chance, try to do the “Distraction Index Drill”. It’s tough and I personally believe we all suffer from getting off task.

Knowing that now is reassuring but we are obligated to ourselves to clean that up and focus better. Anything is possible when you put your heart and soul into it, so sit down, focus and finish.

 

Exercise:

10 Minutes is the goal. If you can do 10 minutes distraction free staring at a blank piece of paper and a pencil sitting on top, please share your story with us.

My Results:

I made it 2 Minutes and 28 seconds because I peeked at the stopwatch and started feeling unproductive. I noticed the clock said that it was also time to go home. It’s amazing how much you think about in such a short amount of time.

 

Leave a Reply

