“Christians and Hate For Government”

I hate my government, is something so many people are saying these days. We’re attaching our hashtag #NOTMYPRESIDENT . I’m not happy with the new president-elect(Speaking of Donald John Trump Sr.). I’m not ok with the corruption that I believe exists in our American Government(These are some things I’ve said about Hillary Clinton). There is so much uncertainty that is present in our society today and there are so many reasons that “the uncertainty” exists. I’m not sure I’ll be able to touch on all of them just the ones that come to mind this beautiful November morning here in Northern Illinois. 

Our potential as a country is something we might measure daily based on times in our countries history that were monumental. One could also argue that that daily expectation is a major handicap. My greatest mentor is Jesus Christ and an example of what he did is something I wish I could do better during times of uncertainty with my government. I’m not very good at it but I know it’s an example that I can attempt to practice better. Jesus suffered unjustly and endured it without complaint. 

Romans 13 says this…. 

“Let every soul be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and the authorities that exist or appointed by God. Therefore whoever resists the authority resists the ordinance of God, and those who resist will bring judgment on themselves.” 

Compare that to what was said here…

“Behold, I send you out as sheep in the midst of wolves. Therefore be wise as serpents and harmless as doves. But beware of men, for they will deliver you up to the councils and scourge you in the synagogues. You will be brought before governors and kings for My sake, as a testimony to them and to the Gentiles. But when they deliver you up, do not worry about how or what you should speak. Four will be given to you in that hour what you should speak; for it is not you speak, but the Spirit of your Father who speaks in you.” -Jesus Christ

Jesus endured one of the most disturbing punishments mankind can think of. He did it because he leads by example for us to duplicate. Governments haven’t always been in our favor but all leaders are in position for God’s devine plan. It’s not up to us to pass judgment although sometimes I know I want to. We all know how easy it is to form an idea about Hillary and how she failed the Americans in Benghazi. We all know the pain that we feel when we talk about it. It’s frustrating and it’s not fair that she hasn’t been held accountable for the lives we lost. Our government held an investigation with the leadership of His(God’s) choice. Some of us didn’t get the result we wanted, I know I didn’t. But it doesn’t mean that I have the right to pass my judgment against God’s divine plan. Who am I after all. I’m nobody special. 

Most times these things happen that are ultimately out of our control. Hillary obviously wasn’t a part of Gods plan but King Nebuchadnezzar was! You can’t compare either of them because they are so different. Babylon was one of the biggest empires of all time next to Rome. What led to the Persians invading Babylon through the canals of the city was from the writing revealed to King Belshazzar on the wall, literally! Not many people loved Belshazzar the way they did King Nebuchadnezzar but they were put in position for a reason, God’s Devine plan

Why am I talking about these things?

Jesus told us long ago and his words are validated by the apostles and their predecessors. It’s not our job to criticize leadership no matter our feeling on their legitimacy. We are to obey God and he tells above that as christians we are to obey mans laws. Even the local church is obligated to observe civil laws such as zoning, building codes, fire safety regulations, and every other law and regulation that would not cause them to disobey God’s word. There are some things that God tells us are justified to disobey but that’s a different topic for a different day. 

John Maxwell says, “everyone and everything exists in submission to someone else. Even in the home, God has called parents to assume responsibility for the health and growth of the family. Those in authority do not necessarily have greater intelligence or gifts but they do have greater responsibility.

Titus 3:1-3 “Remind them to be subject to rulers and authorities, to obey, to be ready for every good work, to speak evil of no one, to be peaceable, gentle, showing all humility to all men. But we ourselves were also once foolish, disobedient, deceived, serving various lusts and pleasures, living in malice and envy, hateful and heating one another. 

God has a role is everything he does. Which leads me to the purpose of today’s post. 

Peter calls everyone to respect and submit to authority’s, regardless of how the authorities my treat their subjects.

“For this is the will of God, that by doing good you may put to silence the ignorance of foolish men— as free, yet not using liberty as a cloak for vice, but as bondservants of God.” ‭‭I Peter‬ ‭2:15-16‬ ‭NKJV

Jesus was insulted and mocked. He suffered through beating. Was accused falsely and most importantly he carried our sin. He didn’t retaliate, he kept silent. He made no threats, no deceit was in his mouth and he entrusted himself to the father. He laid the brick on the path for us to follow. Praise Jesus! 

I pray for you and I know it won’t be easy. I struggle with the same troubles that you might in my own way. Let’s do our part to make this a better place by being a good example in our neighborhoods and homes. Our kids are watching…

Below are just some examples:


Leave a Reply

